Sign Sheeting Material/Roll Up Signs (SSM/RUP)

 

Sign visibility and legibility is important in providing guidance to the traveling public. Sign sheeting material is designed with specific colors and retroreflectivity levels to enhance visibility to the driver during the day and night.  This material is also designed to be durable over specific time periods depending on the needs of the user.  Sign sheeting performance is evaluated through the NTPEP testing process. 

Sign Sheeting Testing History
Sign sheeting material evaluation has been managed through AASHTO's NTPEP since 1994. Prior to that time, the successful Regional Testing Facility operated by the SASHTO (Southeastern states) administered the program. Under the umbrella of AASHTO, the NTPEP program expanded to the current four outdoor test facilities.
 
Benefits of the Program
Information reported by NTPEP is widely used by AASHTO member departments for decision on which products to approve for their QPL (Qualified Product Listing.) Participating industry finds benefit from NTPEP participation in reduced costs associated with product marketing and consolidated testing. In addition, an impartial comparison of performance with respect to competitor's products is achieved through industry's NTPEP participation.
 

SSM (Rigid and Reboundable Sign Sheeting)
NTPEP evaluation of rigid and reboundable sign sheeting materials consists of three-year, accelerated outdoor exposure on fabricated test panels. Sheeting panels are tested for retroreflectivity, color, and visual appearance initially and after 6, 12, 24, and 36 months. Also, a series of laboratory tests are conducted on the new sign sheeting material.  All testing is in accordance with ASTM D 4956 specification. Lab and field testing is conducted through state DOT cooperatively, including the following states: Virginia (lead state), Louisiana, Minnesota, Arizona and Missouri. Industry participating in NTPEP evaluations includes all major manufacturers of sign sheeting materials.

RUP (Rollup Sign Sheeting)
In parallel, NTPEP evaluation of rollup sign sheeting materials consist of a one-year accelerated outdoor exposure of fabricated rollup test panels. Rollup samples are tested for retroreflectivity, color, and visual appearance initially and after 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, and 12 months.  Also, a series of laboratory tests are conducted on the new rollup sheeting material.  All testing is in accordance with ASTM D 4956 specification. Lab and field testing is conducted through state DOT cooperatively, including the following states: Louisiana (lead state), Minnesota, Arizona. Industry participating in NTPEP evaluations includes all major manufacturers of rollup sign sheeting which are commonly used in daytime utility and maintenance work zone applications.

Testing Results
Test result data is entered into the web-based Data Mine program where it is reviewed and approved by industry prior to being made accessible to the public.
 
NTPEP Annual Meeting
The NTPEP Technical Committee for SSM and RUP convenes yearly at the NTPEP Annual Meeting to discuss with Industry the current Project Work Plans and any modifications needed.  Any changes to the Work Plan are balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next available testing cycle thus promoting an efficient and effective testing program.



 
Technical Committee Members
This roster is as up-to-date as AASHTO's official membership database. The columns are sortable by clicking on the column title.
 
Technical Committee
Jim Swisher (Chairman)
Virginia DOT
(804) 328-3121
james.swisher@vdot.virginia.gov
Jason Davis (Vice Chairman)
Louisiana DOTD
(225) 248-4106
jason.davis@la.gov
Chris Howard
North Carolina DOT
(919) 773-2909
cbhoward@ncdot.gov
David Iverson
Minnesota DOT
(651) 366-5550
david.iverson@state.mn.us
Julie Lamberson Weiland
Missouri DOT
(573) 751-2847
julie.weiland@modot.mo.gov
Jim McGraw
Minnesota DOT
(651) 366-5548
jim.mcgraw@dot.state.mn.us
Tobey Reynolds
New Hampshire DOT
(603) 419-0391
treynolds@dot.state.nh.us
Paul Vinik
Florida DOT
(353) 955-6649
paul.vinik@dot.state.fl.us
Chris Gaudette, Industry Rep
Orafol Americas, Inc. 
(860) 676-7181
chris.gaudette@orafol.com
Derrick Castle
KY Transportation Cabinet
(502) 564-3160
derrick.castle@ky.gov
Matt Hills, Industry Rep
Avery Dennison
(240) 925-6891
matt.hills@averydennison.com
Henry Lacinak
AASHTO Staff Liaison
(225) 752-2877
hlacinak@aashto.org
Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Sign Sheeting Materials
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Swisher, James James.Swisher@VDOT.Virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Davis, Jason jason.davis@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Vice Chair Voting
Glick, Vince vglick@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Jenkins, Andre Lemar jenkinsa@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ingram, Steven ingrams@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hanna, Maysa F. mhanna@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Voting
Vinik, Paul E paul.vinik@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Morse, Kelly L Kelly.Morse@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pelham, Michael Paul mpelham@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mitchell, Brandi Ramona brandi.mitchell@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Voting
Stout, Paul Pstout@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Krogman, Jason Jason.Krogman@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
McNair, Andy amcnair@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lamberson, Julie julie.lamberson@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Voting
Galarza, Patrick patrick.galarza@dot.ny.gov New York State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Howard, Christopher cbhoward@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kuniega, David H. dkuniega@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Voting
Whitmore, Ted Jeffrey ted.j.whitmore@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Rizos, Linette linette.rizos@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Rauch, Matthew Roy matt.rauch@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Madar, Moe moe.madar@averydennison.com Avery Dennison Other Non-Voting
Gaudette, Chris chris.gaudette@orafol.com Orafol Americas Inc. Other Non-Voting

Chris Gaudette - Primary Industry Representative
Moe Madar - Secondary Industry Representative

                           

​​