Rapid Set Concrete Patch Materials (RSCP)

Rapid-set concrete patch materials are used widely in the transportation industry, from horizontal applications for pavements; to vertical and overhead applications for bridges and structures. According to the NTPEP Project Work Plan which describes the ASTM- and AASHTO- test methods under which products are evaluated, "the study will look at both water based and non water based rapid setting materials used to patch portland cement concrete. These will include cementitious, latex modified, polymer resin, magnesium phosphate, and other materials expressly designed for patching portland cement concrete bridge decks and portland cement concrete pavements. In order to be classified as fast setting, the product must reach a traffic loadable condition (1200 psi compression) in less than three hours.

The NTPEP Project Panel responsible for authoring the Project Work Plan convenes yearly at the NTPEP National (Annual) Meeting. During this working meeting, the Project Work Plan is discussed; changes made, and shortly thereafter balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next available testing cycle. When compared to other standards development exercises, the NTPEP process is agile, effective and efficient.

 

Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Rapid Set Concrete Patching Materials
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Real, William L. wreal@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Mulcahy, Richard F richard.mulcahy@dot.state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Korschgen, Brian bkorschgen@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Douds, Richard rdouds@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Johnson, Darrell djohnson@dot.GA.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Charoenpap, Richie richie.charoenpap@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Carpenito, Richard A richard.carpenito@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Wutzke, Scott swwutzke@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Young, Brad brad.young2@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Zwanka, Merrrill E zwankame@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tremblay, M.S., Jason P jason.tremblay@state.vt.us Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Voting

 


Technical Committee  
Josh Welge (Chairman)
Kansas DOT
(785) 291-3825
joshua.welge@ksdot.org
Bill Real 
New Hampshire DOT
(603) 271-3151
wreal@dot.state.nh.us
Eric Pitts
Georgia DOT
(404) 363-7625
epitts@dot.ga.gov
Brad Young
Ohio DOT
(614) 351-2882
bradyoung2@dot.state.oh.us
Michelle Owens
Alabama DOT
(334) 353-6940
owensm@dot.state.al.us
Maria Drozd
Maine DOT
(207) 622-8350
maria.drozd@maine.gov
David Kotzer
Colorado DOT
(303) 398-6566
david.kotzer@dot.state.co.us
Rick Douds
Georgia DOT
(404) 608-4810
richard.douds@dot.state.ga.us
Patrick Galarza
New York DOT
(518) 457-4599
pgalarza@dot.state.ny.us
Jason Tremblay
Vermont Agency of Transportation  
(802) 828-6945
 jay.tremblay@state.vt.us
Jim Parry
Wisconsin DOT
(608) 246-7939
james.parry@dot.wi.gov
Merrill Zwanka
South Carolina DOT
(803) 737-6681
zwankame@scdot.org
Doug Gayne
Maine DOT
(207) 624-3268
doug.gayne@maine.gov
Alan Kegley
Mississippi DOT
(601) 359-1773
akegley@mdot.state.ms.us
Robert J. Skalla
New Jersey DOT
Richard Nicholson (Industry Member)
Quikrete

(404) 863-7191
rnicholson@comcast.net

Dave DeBruler (Industry Member)
Dayton Superior
(913) 279-4800
Brian Korschgen  
AASHTO Liaison
(202) 624-8566 
bkorschgen@aashto.org  
                        
 
                        


 
​​​​