Raised Pavement Markers (RPM)


A raised pavement marker (RPM) is a safety device used on roads. These devices are usually made with plastic, ceramic, or occasionally metal, and come in a variety of shapes and colors. Raised pavement markers include a lens or sheeting that enhances their visibility by reflecting automotive headlights. RPMs can be used to show roadway alignment, or to replace or supplement other pavement markings. More frequently, however, retroreflective RPMs are used in conjunction with retroreflective striping for longitudinal delineation. Retroreflective RPMs provide increased visibility at night, especially during rain to provide wet weather visibility.

Snow Plowable Raised Pavement Marker  (SPRPM)


A snow plowable raised pavement marker (SPRPM) serves the same purpose as a RPM but is designed to withstand the impact of snow plowing operations. The devices are usually made with a cast iron housing which holds and protects a plastic reflective lens. They are placed into a saw cut reservoir and are secured to the pavement using epoxy adhesive.

Currently, NTPEP evaluates the performance of manufacturers’ RPMs and SPRPMs on both asphalt pavement and concrete pavement on a busy interstate. Adhesives that hold the RPMs in place may also be evaluated. The testing includes field evaluation and laboratory testing. Installation and testing protocols are described in the "Project Work Plan." All sampling and testing requirements conform to the latest version of ASTM Standard Specifications (D4280 and D4383).

The NTPEP Technical Committee is responsible for authoring the Project Work Plan convenes yearly at the NTPEP National (Annual) Meeting. During this working meeting, the Project Work Plan is discussed; changes made, and shortly thereafter balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next testing cycle.

 


Technical Committee Members
This roster is as up-to-date as AASHTO's official membership database. The columns are sortable by clicking on the column title.

Technical Committee
Richard Douds (Chairman)
Georgia DOT
(404) 608-4805
rdouds@dot.ga.gov
Brad Young (Vice Chairman)
Ohio DOT
(614) 351-2882
brad.young2@dot.state.oh.us
Paul Vinik
Florida DOT
(352) 955-6649
paul.vinik@dot.state.fl.us  
Steven Thomas
Arkansas Highway Department
(501) 569-2377
steven.thomas@arkansashighways.com
Derrick Castle 
KY Trans. Cabinet 
(502) 229-9174 
derrick.castle@ky.gov
<><><><><><><><><><><><><>Jason Davis
Louisiana DOTD
(225) 248-4106
Jason.Davis@la.gov
Dan Sajedi
Maryland DOT
(443) 572-5162
dsajedi@sha.state.md.us
<><><><><><><><><><><><><>
James Swisher
Virginia DOT
(804) 328-3121
James.Swisher@VDOT.Virginia.gov
Celina Sumrall
Robert McCullohs(Industry Rep)
Ray-O-Lite
(706) 628-9550
mccullohs@rayolite.com
Dave Villani (Industry Rep)
Ennis 
(678) 296-9910 
davev@ennistraffic.com
AASHTO Liaison
Henry Lacinak
(225) 752-2877 
hlacinak@aashto.org  
Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Raised Pavement Markers
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Douds, Richard rdouds@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Young, Brad A Brad.Young2@dot.ohio.gov Ohio Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Sirianni, Jonathan jsirianni@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Jenkins, Andre Lemar jenkinsa@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ingram, Steven ingrams@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Goldbaum, Jay Jay.Goldbaum@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Voting
Vinik, Paul E paul.vinik@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Reed, Nikita L nikita.reed@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lian, George glian@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kemp, Jan jkemp@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Morse, Kelly L Kelly.Morse@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tisdale, Doc A dtisdale@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kerstetter, Joseph Joseph.Kerstetter@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Voting
Berg, Ken kenberg@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Voting
Swisher, James James.Swisher@VDOT.Virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Whitmore, Ted Jeffrey ted.j.whitmore@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Rizos, Linette linette.rizos@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Rauch, Matthew Roy matt.rauch@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
SOMICH, RAYMOND C rcsomich@dow.com Dow Chemical Company Other Non-Voting
Britt, Jerry jerry@ennisflint.com Ennis-Flint Other Non-Voting

 


 


​​​​