Reinforcing Steel and Welded Wire Reinforcement(REBAR/WWR)

 
Approximately 20 of the 50 State Departments of Transportation (DOT’s) performed some form of plant audit (a.k.a. Certification Program, Quality Monitoring Program, etc.) for the acceptance of reinforcing steel. Producing mills were subjected to several of these audits annually. Each DOT program was different and the results were not transferable from state to state. State DOT’s who performed these audits must perform an audit at each mill location requesting qualification.

A “national” program was requested by State DOT’s and the reinforcing steel industry to: “Establish a uniform procedure for approving reinforcing steel mills who furnish product for State DOT use.” The NTPEP Committee Work Plan for the Evaluation of Reinforcing Steel Manufacturers was jointly developed by the reinforcing steel bar industry and State DOT’s for this purpose. The Work Plan can be found by clicking on the Documents menu item on the NTPEP Committee Work Plan for the Evaluation of Reinforcing Steel Manufacturers was jointly developed by the reinforcing steel bar industry and State DOT’s for this purpose. The Work Plan can be found by clicking on the Documents menu item on the menu to your right.
 

Process
The program begins with a review of the mill’s quality system manual (Ref.: AASHTO R 18, Section 6). The audit emphasizes:
  • The mill’s quality system – for compliance with the mill’s Quality Manual
  • The mill’s testing procedures – for compliance with the appropriate material specification (Ref.: AASHTO R 18, Section 5.4).

Next, an on-site audit is performed by the Qualification Agency. This audit reviews:
  • Production of Steel
  • Materials Traceability
  • Material Testing – on selected samples
  • Records and Mill Test Reports
  • Split Sample Testing
The annual audit determines whether the producing mill has the capabilities to consistently meet the specification (AASHTO/ASTM) requirements for the bar product produced.

Once the audit is completed, the results of the audit are reviewed. NTPEP maintains the results of the audit on their website (http://data.ntpep.org/). NTPEP will also publish a list showing which mills have successfully met the requirements of the audit. Each DOT then determines whether the mills are approved or not based upon their established criteria (Ref.: the particular DOT’s specification).

Actual test data and/or audit reports will not be visable to the public. Audit documents can only be view by DOT representatives and the audited manufacturer. This location may also include additional information (such as: the standard sizes produced, number of furnaces, types of material produced, etc.) for use by the DOTs.
 
All participating mills desiring to continue under the program, will be re-evaluated on an annual basis.

A standard “audit form” has been developed for recording the results of the audit. The Audit Form is an information gathering form to be used in conjunction with worksheets, mill test reports, the mill’s Quality Manual, et cetera.

Organization
AASHTO’s Subcommittee on Materials (SOM) is comprised of the State DOT Materials Engineers and oversees the work of NTPEP. National Transportation Product Evaluation Program (NTPEP) is the Program Administrator and their Reinforcing Steel Technical Committee (comprised of representatives of several DOTs ) is responsible for:
  • Evaluating the results of corrective actions taken by the producing mill (Ref. Section 5.5.3. and 5.9.)
  • Addressing modifications to the specification.
Manufacturing auditors employed by AASHTO conduct the audits for the NTPEP Audit Program.
Program Use
The program can be used as follows:
  • Only means of acceptance for reinforcing steel
  • In conjunction with job sampling and testing (as a Total Quality Assurance package).
It is anticipated that all State DOTs will use this program.

The NTPEP Technical Committee responsible for authoring the Project Work Plan convenes yearly at the NTPEP National (Annual) Meeting. During this working meeting, the Project Work Plan is discussed, changes made, and shortly thereafter balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next available audit tour. When compared to other standards development exercises, the NTPEP process is agile, effective and efficient.



​ 


Technical Committee Members
This roster is as up-to-date as AASHTO's official membership database. The columns are sortable by clicking on the column title.  
 
Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Reinforcing Steel
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Zwanka, Merrill E zwankame@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Hughes, Scott Eric Scott.Hughes@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Pickett, William B. pickettb@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ingram, Steven ingrams@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
San Angelo, Michael michael.sanangelo@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Voting
Lukkarila, Paul Q. paul.lukkarila@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pelham, Michael Paul mpelham@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Khoda, Mahbub E mahbub.khoda@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Meggers, Dave dave.meggers@ks.gov Kansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Morris, Justin W justin.morris@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Stilwell, Joseph joseph.r.stilwell@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
Seward, Kenny R. kseward@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Voting
Janak, Karl J Karl.Janak@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Shi, Bin bshi@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Voting
Halsted, Greg ghalsted@crsi.org Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute Other Non-Voting
Wagner, Richard Thomas rwagner@insteel.com Insteel Wire Products Other Non-Voting
Brasell, John P john.brasell@nucor.com Nucor Steel Connecticut, Inc. Other Non-Voting


Technical Committee
Merill Zwanka (Chairman)
South Carolina DOT
zwankame@scdot.org
(803) 737-6694
Ed Hughes (Vice-Chairman)
Illinois DOT
Edward.Hughes@illinois.gov
(217) 782-4689
Joe Putherickal
Iowa DOT
joseph.putherical@dot.state.ia.us
(515) 239-1259
Mike Rafalowski
FHWA
michael.rafalowski@dot.gov
(202) 366-1571
Michael San Angelo
Alaska DOT
michael.sanangelo@alaska.gov
(907) 269-6234
Celina Sumrall
Mississippi DOT
csumrall@mdot.state.ms.us
(601) 359-1755
Dave Meggers
Kansas DOT
Dave.Meggers@ksdot.org
(785) 291-3845
Trevor Booker
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
trevor.booker@ky.gov
(502) 564-3160
Kenny Anderson
Indiana DOT
kbanderson@indot.in.gov
(317) 610-7251 ext 203
Kenny Seward
Oklahoma DOT
kseward@odot.org
(405) 522-0552
Danielle Kleinhans
Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute
dkleinhans@crsi.org
(847) 517-1200 Ext. 330
John Brasell
Nucor Steel 
john.brasell@nucor.com  
                               
Robert Sarcinella, AASHTO Liaison, rsarcinella@aashto.org, (512) 791-5591


 

 
 
​​