Protective Coatings (SSC & CCS)

NTPEP tests products according to a Project Work Plan, which describes the laboratory and/or field test protocols used to conduct the evaluation. The Project Work Plan is a consensus-based document, and includes peer review and input from industry experts. Each Project Work Plan is adopted after receiving at least two-thirds affirmative support from 52 AASHTO member states. The Project Work Plan is the basis for host states to conduct their testing and evaluation. When implemented by state DOTs, their own state standard specifications may supersede the NTPEP Project Work Plan. Industry is advised that state-level requirements may supersede basic NTPEP testing.


​Technical Committee
Derrick Castle (Chairman)
Kentucky DOT
(502) 564-3160
derrick.castle@ky.gov
Celina Sumrall (Vice Chairman)
Mississippi DOT
(601) 359-7001
csumrall@mdot.state.ms.us
Ivan Silbernagel
Oregon DOT
(503) 986-6213
ivan.p.silbernagel@state.or.us
Alan Rawson
New Hampshire DOT
(603) 271-3151
ARawson@dot.state.nh.us
Jim McGraw
Minnesota DOT
(651) 366-5548
jim.mcgraw@state.mn.us
Tuan Tran
Lousiana DOTD
(225) 248-4121
tuantran@la.gov
Paul Vinik
Florida DOT
(352) 955-6649
Paul.Vinik@dot.state.fl.us
C. Wayne Fleming
Virginia DOT
(804) 328-3126
cw.fleming@vdot.virginia.gov
Greg Girard (Industry Rep
assigned by SSPC)
Sherwin Williams
(773) 821-3041
greg.girard@sherwin.com
Dave Kuniega
Pennsylvania DOT
(717) 787-3966
dkuniega@pa.gov
Jason Davis
Lousiana DOTD
(225) 248-4106
jason.davis@la.gov
AASHTO Liaison
Katheryn Malusky
(202) 624-3695
kmalusky@aashto.org
Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Protective Coatings
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Bennett, Todd Todd.Bennett@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Chair None
Morse, Kelly L Kelly.Morse@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Gudiel, Joaquin F Francisco.Gudiel@La.Gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Vice Chair Voting
Sirianni, Jonathan jsirianni@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Ingram, Steven ingrams@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jenkins, Andre Lemar jenkinsa@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Burst, Chris cburst@carboline.com Carboline Company Member Non-Voting
Vinik, Paul E paul.vinik@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Sommers, Scott Michael scott.sommers@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mitchell, Brandi Ramona brandi.mitchell@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Voting
Grubb, Michael A michael.grubb@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Davis, Jason jason.davis@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Gallistel, Allen allen.gallistel@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Collins, Edward Martin edward.collins@dot.ny.gov New York State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Luger, Matt mmluger@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Wutzke, Scott W swwutzke@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Boothe, Joel joel.e.boothe@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kuniega, David H. dkuniega@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Voting
Fleming, C. Wa cw.fleming@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Olson, Ahren ahren.olson@covestro.com Covestro LLC Other Non-Voting
Palle, Sudhir sudhir.palle@uky.edu Kentucky Transportation Center Other Non-Voting
Corbett, William D bcorbett@kta.com KTA-Tator, Inc. Other Non-Voting
Castle, Derrick Derrick.Castle@sherwin.com Sherwin-Williams Other Non-Voting
Grivna, Michael mgrivna@tkproduct.com TK Products Other Non-Voting

​​​​​​​