HDPE Plastic Pipe

Plastic pipe is intended for surface and subsurface drainage applications where soil provides support to its flexible walls. Its major use is to collect or convey drainage water by open gravity flow, as culverts, storm drains, etc.

Currently, NTPEP is auditing HDPE (High Density Polyethylene) Thermoplastic Pipe manufacturerers, which includes split sample testing. Audit and test protocols are described in the "Project Work Plan." All audit requirements conform with the latest version of AASHTO Standard Specifications (M 252 and M 294).

The NTPEP Technical Committee responsible for authoring the Project Work Plan convenes yearly at the NTPEP National (Annual) Meeting. During this working meeting, the Project Work Plan is discussed, changes made, and shortly thereafter balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next available audit tour. When compared to other standards development exercises, the NTPEP process is agile, effective and efficient.

Technical Committee
David Meggers (Chairman)
Kansas DOT
(785) 291-3845
Vice Chairman - Vacant 
Kenny Anderson
Indiana DOT
(317) 610-7251, ext.203
Ed Hughes
Illinois DOT
(217) 782-4689
Peter Kemp
Wisconsin DOT
(608) 246-7953
Ed Lucas
New York State DOT
(518) 457-4590
Jim McGraw
Minnesota DOT
(651) 366-5548
Randy Pace
North Carolina DOT
(919) 733-7091
Kenny Seward
Oklahoma DOT
(405) 522-4999
Paul Sullivan
Arizona DOT
(602) 712-7468
Merrill Zwanka
South Carolina DOT
(803) 737-6681
Brian Chestnut (Industry Rep)
Lane Enterprises, Inc.
(717) 532-5959, ext.1207
Michael Pluimer (Industry Rep)
Plastic Pipe Institute
(469) 499-1049
Katheryn Malusky
AASHTO Liaison
(202) 624-3695

Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on HDPE Pipe
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Meggers, Dave dmeggers@ksdot.org Kansas Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Short, Temple shorttk@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Malusky, Katheryn kmalusky@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Ingram, Steven ingrams@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Knight, Chase Constantine chase.knight@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hughes, Scott Eric Scott.Hughes@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Anderson, Kenny kbanderson@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pace, Randy K. rpace@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Seward, Kenny R. kseward@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Voting
Zwanka, Merrrill E zwankame@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kemp, Peter J. peter.kemp@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting