HDPE Plastic Pipe

Plastic pipe is intended for surface and subsurface drainage applications where soil provides support to its flexible walls. Its major use is to collect or convey drainage water by open gravity flow, as culverts, storm drains, etc.

Currently, NTPEP is auditing HDPE (High Density Polyethylene) Thermoplastic Pipe manufacturerers, which includes split sample testing. Audit and test protocols are described in the "Project Work Plan." All audit requirements conform with the latest version of AASHTO Standard Specifications (M 252 and M 294).

The NTPEP Technical Committee responsible for authoring the Project Work Plan convenes yearly at the NTPEP National (Annual) Meeting. During this working meeting, the Project Work Plan is discussed, changes made, and shortly thereafter balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next available audit tour. When compared to other standards development exercises, the NTPEP process is agile, effective and efficient.

Technical Committee
David Meggers (Chairman)
Kansas DOT
dave.meggers@ksdot.org
(785) 291-3845
Vice Chairman - Vacant 
Kenny Anderson
Indiana DOT
kbanderson@indot.in.gov
(317) 610-7251, ext.203
Ed Hughes
Illinois DOT
edward.hughes@illinois.gov
(217) 782-4689
Peter Kemp
Wisconsin DOT
peter.kemp@dot.state.wi.us
(608) 246-7953
Ed Lucas
New York State DOT
elucas@dot.state.ny.us
(518) 457-4590
Jim McGraw
Minnesota DOT
jim.mcgraw@state.mn.us
(651) 366-5548
Randy Pace
North Carolina DOT
rpace@dot.state.nc.us
(919) 733-7091
Kenny Seward
Oklahoma DOT
kseward@odot.org
(405) 522-4999
Paul Sullivan
Arizona DOT
psullivan@azdot.gov
(602) 712-7468
Merrill Zwanka
South Carolina DOT
zwankame@dot.state.sc.us
(803) 737-6681
Brian Chestnut (Industry Rep)
Lane Enterprises, Inc.
bchestnut@lane-enterprises.com
(717) 532-5959, ext.1207
Michael Pluimer (Industry Rep)
Plastic Pipe Institute
mpluimer@plasticpipe.org
(469) 499-1049
Katheryn Malusky
AASHTO Liaison
kmalusky@aashto.org
(202) 624-3695


Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on HDPE Pipe
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Meggers, David dmeggers@ksdot.org Kansas Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Paredes, Mario A mario.paredes@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Malusky, Katheryn kmalusky@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Knight, Chase Constantine chase.knight@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hughes, Edward E. Edward.Hughes@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Anderson, Kenny kbanderson@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
McGraw, James Jim.Mcgraw@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pace, Randy K. rpace@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Seward, Kenny R. kseward@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Voting
Zwanka, Merrrill E zwankame@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kemp, Peter J. peter.kemp@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting


 
​​