PCC Joint Sealants (JS) and HMA Crack Sealers (CS)

 
PCC Joint Sealants (JS)

Joint Sealants are commonly used to protect and seal Portland Cement Concrete (PCC) pavement joints. Under this NTPEP evaluation program, both hot-poured and cold-applied joint sealants materials are field tested for three years and laboratory tested according to a variety of ASTM specified test methods.

Moisture is a key ingredient to the development of many durability-related distress types. As a result, these distress types are often observed to be much more severe at joints and cracks, where moisture can penetrate the concrete from several surfaces. Sealing joints and cracks can help reduce the amount of infiltrated water. However, the effectiveness of sealing depends on several issues:

  • How much water will be prevented from infiltrating by sealing the joint or crack?
  • What other sources are contributing moisture and what's the volume of this water?
  • How long will the sealant be effective at reducing the infiltration of water?

It is impossible to completely eliminate the intrusion of moisture at joints and cracks, especially for an extended period of time. A Minnesota study found that the amount of infiltrated water (measured using tipping buckets at drainage outlets) returned to the same levels within 2 weeks after resealing (Hagen and Cochran 1995). This confirms that moisture can continue to penetrate the concrete at joints and at other locations, making this approach a short-term solution under the best of circumstances. are widely usedipe is intended for surface and subsurface drainage applications where soil provides suport to its flexible walls. Its major use is to collect or convey drainage water by open gravity flow, as culverts, storm drains, etc. (SOURCE: FHWA/TFHRC)

 
HMA Crack Sealers (CS)

AASHTO is pleased to announce launch of a coordinated evaluation of Crack Sealers for HMA pavements under the auspices of its National Transportation Product Evaluation Program (NTPEP).

Crack Sealers are commonly used to protect and seal Hot Mix Asphalt (HMA) pavement cracks from moisture and other deleterious material. Under this NTPEP evaluation program the sealers are field tested for three years and laboratory tested according to a variety of ASTM specified test methods.

 

The NTPEP Technical Committee responsible for authoring the Project Work Plan for both Joint Sealants and Crack Sealers convenes yearly at the NTPEP National (Annual) Meeting. During this working meeting, the Project Work Plan is discussed, changes made, and shortly thereafter balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next available testing cycle. The work plan can be found by clicking on "Documents" in the right side menu. When compared to other standards development exercises, the NTPEP process is agile, effective and efficient.


Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Crack Sealer and Joint Sealer
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Gallistel, Allen allen.gallistel@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Romero, Matt mromero@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Glick, Vince vglick@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Armstead, William Chance armsteadc@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ingram, Steven ingrams@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kotzer, David david.kotzer@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Voting
Carlson, Eliana eliana.carlson@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Byram, Karen karen.byram@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jones, Kevin kevin.jones@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Davis, Jason jason.davis@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Burke, Gloria L gburke@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Baah, Prince baahp@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Voting
Galarza, Patrick patrick.galarza@dot.ny.gov New York State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Short, Temple shorttk@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Shi, Bin bshi@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Voting
hanna, paulette paulette.hanna@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Parkison, Lowell Lowell.Parkison@crafco.com Crafco Pavement Preservation Products Other Non-Voting
Guymon, Mike mike@maxwellproducts.com Maxwell Products, Inc. Other Non-Voting
Gauthier, Philippe R philippeg@rightpointe.com Right Pointe Other Non-Voting

Technical Committee
Jim McGraw(Chairman)
Minnesota DOT
Jim.Mcgraw@state.mn.us
(651) 366-5548
Jason Tremblay (Vice Chairman)
VT Agency of Transportation
jason.tremblay@state.vt.us
(802) 828-6945
Jonathan Boardman
Connecticut DOT
jonathan.boardman@dot.state.ct.us
(860) 258-0350
William Real
New Hampshire DOT
wreal@dot.state.nh.us
(603) 271-3151
Celina Sumrall
Mississippi DOT
csumrall@mdot.state.ms.us
(601) 359-7001
Deborah Munroe
Rhode Island DOT
dmunroe@dot.ri.gov
(401) 222-2030
David Kotzer
Colorado DOT
david.kotzer@dot.state.co.us
(303) 398-6566
Randy Pace
North Carolina DOTD
rpace@ncdot.gov
(919) 733-7091
Jason Davis
Louisiana DOTD
jason.davis@la.gov
(225) 248-4106
Karen Byram
Florida DOT
karen.byram@dot.state.fl.us
(850) 414-4353
David Iverson
Minnesota DOT
david.iverson@state.mn.us
(651) 366-5550
Jennifer Fitch
VT Agency of Transportation
Jennifer.Fitch@state.vt.us
(802) 828-2553
Michael Rafalowski
FHWA Office of Pavements
Michael.Rafalowski@dot.gov
(202) 366-1571
Brian Hunter
North Carolina DOT
bhunter@ncdot.gov
(919) 329-4090
Joseph Putherickal
Iowa DOT
joseph.putherickal@dot.iowa.gov
(515) 239-1259
Doug Gayne
Maine DOT
doug.gayne@maine.gov
(207) 624-3268
Kevin Van Frank
Utah DOT
kvanfrank@utah.gov
(801) 965-4426
Lowell Parkinson
Crafco, Inc.
lowell.parkinson@crafco.com
Don Fogle
California DOD
don.fogle@dot.ca.gov  
Dianne Carey (Industry Rep)
WR Meadows, Inc.
dcarey@wrmeadows.com
(847) 214-2236
Brian Korschgen
AASHTO Liaison 
bkorschgen@aashto.org
(202) 624-8566 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 


 
 
​​