Geosynthetics (GTX & REGEO)

Geosynthetics are materials manufactured from various types of polymers used to enhance, augment and make possible cost effective environmental, transportation and geotechnical engineering construction projects. They are used to provide one or more of the following functions: separation, reinforcement, filtration, drainage and liquid barrier.

Geotextiles are typically defined as flexible, textile-like fabrics of controlled permeability used to provide all of the above functions, except liquid barrier, in soil, rock and waste materials. It should be noted that natural fibre geotextiles (e.g. using jute) are manufactured in some parts of the world and these products are also considered to fall within the geotextile classification.

NTPEP is also studying use of geocomposite drains and geogrids. Geogrids are generally described as stiff or flexible polymer grid-like sheets with large apertures used primarily as reinforcement of unstable soil (and waste masses.)

The growth of these geosynthetic materials in Transportation, Geotechnical and Environmental related applications has been dramatic. Total use and sales of these materials are regularly increasing at rates of 10% to 20% per year in each of the above categories. (Source: International Geosynthetics Society, IGS)
The GTX and REGEO work plans can be found by clicking on Documents in the right side menu.
 
A list of participating Geotextile manufacturers with a quality management system found to conform to the NTPEP GTX work plan.​​

​Technical Committee Members
This roster is as up-to-date as AASHTO's official membership database. The columns are sortable by clicking on the column title.
Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Geotextiles and Geosynthetics
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Schuler, John john.schuler@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Herrera, Rodrigo A rodrigo.herrera@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Glick, Vince vglick@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Malusky, Katheryn kmalusky@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Golden, Shannon G. goldens@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Palmer, Charles Kevin kevin.palmer@ardot.gov Arkansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hughes, Scott Eric Scott.Hughes@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Sommers, Scott Michael scott.sommers@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Davis, Jason jason.davis@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Sajedi, Dan dsajedi@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lee, Derek derek.lee@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
La Cour, Ian ilacour@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lindemann, Mark mark.lindemann@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Transportation Member Voting
Burnett, Thomas W Tom.Burnett@dot.ny.gov New York State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hidden, Scott shidden@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Brown, Sophie sophie.brown@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kern, Claudia claudia.kern@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Allen, Tony M allent@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Rublein, John john.rublein@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Baryluk, Greg R greg.baryluk@ads-pipe.com ADS, Inc. Other Non-Voting
Whitaker, Brian H bwhitaker@fiberweb.com Berry Global INC. Other Non-Voting
Davis, Kelli davis.kelli@3derosion.com DDD Erosion Control, Inc Other Non-Voting
Curry, Jonathan jicurry@ifai.com Industrial Fabrics Association International Other Non-Voting
Bernardi, Michael mbernardi@geogrid.com Strata Systems, Inc. Other Non-Voting
Steen, Carson Glenn glenn@synteen.com Synteen Technical Fabrics Other Non-Voting
Brown, Douglas N dbrown@tensarcorp.com Tensar North American Green Other Non-Voting

 

Technical Committee
Tony Allen (Chairman)
Washington DOT
(360) 709-5450
allent@wsdot.wa.gov
John Schuler (Vice-Chairman)
Virginia DOT
(804) 3328-3140
John.Schuler@VDOT.Virginia.gov
Jim Curtis
New York DOT
(518) 457-4735
Jcurtis@dot.state.ny.us
Jason Davis
Lousiana DOT
(225) 248-4106
Jason.Davis@la.gov
Ed Hughes
Illinois DOT
(217) 782-4689
Edward.Hughes@illinois.gov
Peter Kemp
Wisconsin DOT
(608) 246-7953
Peter.Kemp@dot.wi.gov
Mark Lindermann, PE
Nebraska Dept. of Roads
(402) 479-4752
mark.lindermann@nebraska.gov
Dan Sajedi
MD State Highway Administration
(443) 572-5162
dsajedi@sha.state.md.us
Steven Thomas
Arkansas DOT
(501) 920-6744
Steven.Thomas@arkansashighways.com
Andrew Aho
Geosynthetic Materials Association (GMA), Industry Rep
(651) 225-6907
amaho@ifai.com
Davis Taylor
Thracelinq, Industry Rep
(843) 875-8240
dtaylor@thracelinq.com
Brian Whittaker
Fiberweb, Industry Rep
(615) 847-7500
bwhitaker@fiberweb.com
Jonathan Guido
Oregon DOT
(503) 986-3993
jonathan.n.guido@odot.state.or.us
Katheryn Malusky
AASHTO Liaison
(202) 624-3695
kmalusky@aashto.org
 

 



 
 
​​
​​