Erosion Control Products (ECP)

 

The enormous problem of uncontrolled soil movement by water and wind has created the erosion control industry. The magnitude of the problem is often overlooked by those unfamiliar with the impact of erosion. As a single example, sediment the by-product of erosion) accounts for more than two-thirds of all pollutants entering U.S. waterways. Annual spending in the U.S. for mitigation of erosion and sedimentation is estimated at $13 billion.

The erosion control industry consists of a broad range of diverse professions and specialties, including hydroseeders, mat and blanket manufacturers, consulting engineers, landscapers and even earth moving contractors. All stake claims to separate or interrelated segments of this market. This army of professionals has two objectives in mind; the prevention of soil erosion, and the trapping of sediment before it enters the waterways.

One of the most rapidly growing and "high tech" segments within the industry has been the erosion control mat and blanket market. Erosion control products (i.e. mats and blankets) were first used in the form of jute mattings imported from Asia, but have quickly evolved to include organic fiber-filled and geosynthetic products. As the demand for mats and blankets grew, several different products were developed utilizing varying compositions and structures. Most of these products work in conjunction with vegetation to form a biocomposite solution to erosion control problems. The mat and blanket industry is unique in that it requires blending the professional disciplines of engineering (mat and blanket products, channel hydraulics, etc.), agronomics, and landscaping (i.e. vegetation). The wide variety of product types together with the blending of professional disciplines has led this segment of the industry to "self-regulate" it's activities to improve the use of erosion control products. -NTPEP-


Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Erosion Control Products and Sediment Retention Devices
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Rublein, John john.rublein@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Johnson, Brandon Michael brandon.johnson@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Vice Chair Voting
Malusky, Katheryn kmalusky@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Wong, Maribel mwong@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Ingram, Steven ingrams@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Huang, Stephanie shuang@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Voting
Guo, Ting ting.guo@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lian, George glian@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hughes, Scott Eric Scott.Hughes@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Sommers, Scott Michael scott.sommers@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Serio, Melissa melissa.serio@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ridgway, Nathan nathan.ridgway@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Non-Voting
Sheffield, Tyler tyler.sheffield@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Voting
Belz, Lori M lori.belz@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Blakely, John Alexander jblakely@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Oesch, Dan daniel.oesch@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Voting
Poe, Ronald E ronald.poe@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mailhot, Gary David gmailhot@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Voting
Marshall, Robert Root robert.r.marshall@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Martin, John MartinJP@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Williams, Jacqueline williamsja1@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Farley, William william.farley@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kemp, Peter J. peter.kemp@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kelsey, Kurt kkelsey@AmericanExcelsior.com American Excelsior Company Other None
Davis, Kelli davis.kelli@3derosion.com DDD Erosion Control, Inc Other None
Hitt, Diane M diane@eastcoasterosion.com East Coast Erosion Blankets, LLC Other None
Honnigford, Laurie laurie@ectc.org Erosion Control Technology Council Other None
Ruzowicz, Benton Bancroft bruzowicz@gaswcc.org Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission Other None
Harris, Keith keith.harris@hanescompanies.com Hanes Geo Components Other None
Curry, Jonathan jicurry@ifai.com Industrial Fabrics Association International Other None
Massingill, Curtis Randolph randy@landmsupplyco.com L&M Supply Company Inc. Other None
Robeson, Michael mrobeson@profileproducts.com Profile Products LLC Other None
Andrews, David david.andrews@propexglobal.com Propex Operating Company, LLC Other None
Harrison, Scott scott@terranovo.com Terra Novo Other None
McFalls, Jett j-mcfalls@tamu.edu Texas Transportation Institute Other None
Sprague, C Joel jsprague@tri-env.com TRI/Environmental, Inc. Other None
Nelson, Jarrett A jnelson@tri-env.com TRI/Environmental, Inc. Other None
Lipscomb, Chad M chad@westernexcelsior.com Western Excelsior Other None
Johns, J.P. jp.johns@woolpert.com Woolpert, Inc. Other None

Technical Committee
Peter Kemp (Chair)
Wisconsin DOT
peter.kemp@dot.wi.gov
(608) 246-7953
Tracy Gore (ViceChair)
Alabama DOT
goret@dot.state.al.us
(334) 242-6244
Rachel Mills
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
rachel.mills@ky.gov
(502) 564-4780
Ronald Matar
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
ronald.matar@ky.gov
(502) 564-3280
Mark Lindemann
Nebraska DOT
Mark.Lindemann@nebraska.gov
(402) 479-4752
Ronald Poe
Nebraska DOT
Ronald.Poe@nebraska.gov   
(402) 479-4499   
Guohua (George) Lian
Georgia DOT
glian@dot.ga.gov
(404) 608-4824
Samuel Collins
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
samule.collins@ky.gov
(502) 564-4780
Stephen Bowling
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
stephen.bowling@ky.gov
(502) 564-4780
William Real
New Hampshire DOT
wreal@dot.state.nh.us
(603) 271-3151
Raghu Namburi
Oregon DOT 
raghu.namburi@odot.state.or.us
(503) 986-3551
Ray Vaughan
South Carolina DOT
vaughanrh@dot.state.sc.us
(803) 737-6378
Jackie Williams
South Carolina DOT
Williamsja1@scdot.org
(803) 737-4901
Jarrett A. Nelson
TRI/Environmental, Inc.

jnelson@tri-env.com
(800) 880-8378
 

J.P. Johns
Woolpert
jp.johns@woolpert.com
(864) 527-4646
Scott Harrison
Terra Nova, Inc.
scott@terranovo.com
(661) 392-9771
Diane Hitt
East Coast Erosion Blankets, LLC
diane@erosionblankets.com
(800) 582-4005
Joel Sprague
TRI/Environmental, Inc.
jsprague@tri-env.com
(864) 242-2220
Gabe Weaver (ECTC Liason)
Tensar International Corp.
(North American Green)
gweaver@tensarcorp.com
(270) 793-0671
Russell Dabbs
AASHTO Liaison
rdabbs@aashto.org 
(202) 624-7743


 
​​
 
​​