​​​Detectable Warning Systems (DWS)

Truncated dome Detectable Warning System (DWS) tiles and panels are used on sidewalk curb ramps and are typically designed based on accessibility guidelines from the Americans with Disabilities Act Standards for Transportation Facilities. The DWS tiles and panels evaluated under this work plan are intended for exterior use subject to routine pedestrian traffic. They consist of weather-resistant tiles or panels that are cast into concrete, or tiles or panels that are surface-applied to concrete surfaces with adhesives and/or mechanical fasteners. The work plan utilizes laboratory testing to evaluate DWS tile and panel material composition, physical characteristics, and durability. Different laboratory testing is required for concrete, polymer, composite material, and metal tiles and panels. detectable warnings.

​​

​​​

Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Detectable Warning Systems
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Byram, Karen karen.byram@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Roskam, Natalie nroskam@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Sirianni, Jonathan jsirianni@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Dixon, Kidada C. dixonk@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ingram, Steven ingrams@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hanna, Maysa F. mhanna@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Huang, Stephanie shuang@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Voting
Webb, Todd todd.webb@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Voting
Robinson-Perry, Ernay Lavonda Erobinson@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Khoda, Mahbub E mahbub.khoda@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Young, Brad A Brad.Young2@dot.ohio.gov Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Simon, Jozsef T. joe.t.simon@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Voting
Clayton, Darby Darby.J.Clayton@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Rublein, John john.rublein@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Stenko, Mike mstenko@transpo.com TRANSPO Industries, Inc. Other None
​​