Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home|Legal|Privacy Policy|Copyright
HMA Crack Sealers

HMA Crack Sealers (CS)

AASHTO is pleased to announce launch of a coordinated evaluation of Crack Sealers for HMA pavements under the auspices of its National Transportation Product Evaluation Program (NTPEP).

Crack Sealers are commonly used to protect and seal Hot Mix Asphalt (HMA) pavement cracks from moisture and other deleterious material. Under this NTPEP evaluation program the sealers are field tested for three years and laboratory tested according to a variety of ASTM specified test methods.

The NTPEP Technical Committee responsible for authoring the Project Work Plan convenes yearly at the NTPEP National (Annual) Meeting. During this working meeting, the Project Work Plan is discussed, changes made, and shortly thereafter balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next available testing cycle. When compared to other standards development exercises, the NTPEP process is agile, effective and efficient.

Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Crack Sealer and Joint Sealer
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Gallistel, Allen Minnesota Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Romero, Matt Oklahoma Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Glick, Vince American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Armstead, William Chance Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ingram, Steven Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Carlson, Eliana Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Byram, Karen Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Davis, Jason Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Bickford, Dawn Maine Department of Transportation Member None
Burke, Gloria L Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bennett, Andy R Michigan Department of Transportation Member Voting
Euler, Christopher New York State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hilderbran, Matthew Ray North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Short, Temple South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Shi, Bin Utah Department of Transportation Member Voting
Parkison, Lowell Crafco Pavement Preservation Products Other None
Guymon, Mike Maxwell Products, Inc. Other None
Gauthier, Philippe R Right Pointe Other None

Technical Committee
Jim McGraw (Chairman)
Minnesota DOT
(651) 366-5548
Jason Tremblay (Vice Chairman)
VT Agency of Transportation
(802) 828-6945
Jonathan Boardman
Connecticut DOT
(860) 258-0350
William Real
New Hampshire DOT
(603) 271-3151
Celina Sumrall
Mississippi DOT
(601) 359-7001
Deborah Munroe
Rhode Island DOT
(401) 222-2030
David Kotzer
Colorado DOT
(303) 398-6566
Randy Pace
North Carolina DOTD
(919) 733-7091
Jason Davis
Louisiana DOTD
(225) 248-4106
Karen Byram
Florida DOT
(850) 414-4353
David Iverson
Minnesota DOT
(651) 366-5550
Jennifer Fitch
VT Agency of Transportation
(802) 828-2553
Michael Rafalowski
FHWA Office of Pavements
(202) 366-1571
Brian Hunter
North Carolina DOT
(919) 329-4090
Joseph Putherickal
Iowa DOT
(515) 239-1259
Doug Gayne
Maine DOT
(207) 624-3268
Kevin Van Frank
Utah DOT
(801) 965-4426
Lowell Parkinson
Crafco, Inc.
Don Fogle
California DOD 
Diane Carey (Industry Rep)
WR MEadows, Inc.
(847) 214-2236
Brian Korschgen
AASHTO Liaison
(202) 624-8566