HMA Crack Sealers (CS)

AASHTO is pleased to announce launch of a coordinated evaluation of Crack Sealers for HMA pavements under the auspices of its National Transportation Product Evaluation Program (NTPEP).

Crack Sealers are commonly used to protect and seal Hot Mix Asphalt (HMA) pavement cracks from moisture and other deleterious material. Under this NTPEP evaluation program the sealers are field tested for three years and laboratory tested according to a variety of ASTM specified test methods.

The NTPEP Technical Committee responsible for authoring the Project Work Plan convenes yearly at the NTPEP National (Annual) Meeting. During this working meeting, the Project Work Plan is discussed, changes made, and shortly thereafter balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next available testing cycle. When compared to other standards development exercises, the NTPEP process is agile, effective and efficient.

Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Crack Sealer and Joint Sealer
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Tremblay, M.S., Jason P jason.tremblay@state.vt.us Vermont Agency of Transportation Chair Voting
Gallistel, Allen allen.gallistel@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Korschgen, Brian bkorschgen@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Kotzer, David david.kotzer@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Voting
Boardman, Jonathan T jonathan.boardman@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Byram, Karen karen.byram@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Putherickal, Joseph S joseph.putherickal@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Davis, Jason jason.davis@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Gayne, Doug doug.gayne@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
McGraw, James Jim.Mcgraw@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Iverson, David david.iverson@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Real, William L. wreal@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pace, Randy K. rpace@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
El-boulaki, Hesham hel-boulaki@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hunter, Brian J bhunter@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Fitch, Jennifer jennifer.fitch@state.vt.us Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Rafalowski, Michael michael.rafalowski@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio Non-Voting

Technical Committee
Jim McGraw (Chairman)
Minnesota DOT
Jim.Mcgraw@state.mn.us
(651) 366-5548
Jason Tremblay (Vice Chairman)
VT Agency of Transportation
jason.tremblay@state.vt.us
(802) 828-6945
Jonathan Boardman
Connecticut DOT
jonathan.boardman@dot.state.ct.us
(860) 258-0350
William Real
New Hampshire DOT
wreal@dot.state.nh.us
(603) 271-3151
Celina Sumrall
Mississippi DOT
csumrall@mdot.state.ms.us
(601) 359-7001
Deborah Munroe
Rhode Island DOT
dmunroe@dot.ri.gov
(401) 222-2030
David Kotzer
Colorado DOT
david.kotzer@dot.state.co.us
(303) 398-6566
Randy Pace
North Carolina DOTD
rpace@ncdot.gov
(919) 733-7091
Jason Davis
Louisiana DOTD
jason.davis@la.gov
(225) 248-4106
Karen Byram
Florida DOT
karen.byram@dot.state.fl.us
(850) 414-4353
David Iverson
Minnesota DOT
david.iverson@state.mn.us
(651) 366-5550
Jennifer Fitch
VT Agency of Transportation
Jennifer.Fitch@state.vt.us
(802) 828-2553
Michael Rafalowski
FHWA Office of Pavements
Michael.Rafalowski@dot.gov
(202) 366-1571
Brian Hunter
North Carolina DOT
bhunter@ncdot.gov
(919) 329-4090
Joseph Putherickal
Iowa DOT
joseph.putherickal@dot.iowa.gov
(515) 239-1259
Doug Gayne
Maine DOT
doug.gayne@maine.gov
(207) 624-3268
Kevin Van Frank
Utah DOT
kvanfrank@utah.gov
(801) 965-4426
Lowell Parkinson
Crafco, Inc.
lowell.parkinsn@crafco.com
Don Fogle
California DOD
don.fogle@dot.ca.gov 
Diane Carey (Industry Rep)
WR MEadows, Inc.
dcarey@wrmeadows.com
(847) 214-2236
Brian Korschgen
AASHTO Liaison
bkorschgen@aashto.org
(202) 624-8566
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 


 
 
​​