Asphalt Release Agents (ARA)

 
Asphalt Release Agents are chemical products developed and manufactured as alternatives to diesel and solvents commonly used for cleaning equipment associated with  Hot Mix Asphaltic Concrete (HMAC) production and placement on government and private facilities. The United States Oil Pollution Act of 1980 was used as the foundation to build the current program. The intent of asphalt release agents is to eliminate harmful stripping products that come into contact with bituminous products and strip the asphalt (binding agent) from the aggregates causing potholes, raveling, and other detrimental pavement failures.

True ARAs are biodegradable and do not pose a health risk to workers or an impact on the environment.  When used properly, they provide a barrier to the bituminous mixes and allow for very litte cleanup of the equipment at the end of the day. The testing within this Committee’s Work Plan attempts to limit the reapplication needs of the ARAs, thereby increasing the cost effectiveness of these products to make them more viable in lieu of diesel and solvents. This Technical Committee’s charge is to create a uniform testing protocol which will allow individual State DOTs to use the data as specified to formulate their own Quality or Material Producer List (QPL or MPL) in an attempt to reduce duplicative testing and workload within each State.

The Texas DOT is the Lead State as well as the testing laboratory.  There will be four (4) testing cycles annually for products; Any additional laboratory or field testing will be at the  individual State DOT’s discretion and responsibility.

The NTPEP Technical Committee responsible for authoring the project Work Plan convenes annually at the NTPEP National Meeting. During this working meeting, the Project Work Plan is discussed, changes made, and shortly thereafter balloted for adoption. Improvements are immediately implemented in the next available testing cycle. When compared to other standards development exercises, the NTPEP process is agile, effective, and efficient.



Technical Committee Members
This roster is as up-to-date as AASHTO's official membership database. The columns are sortable by clicking on the column title.
Committee Name: NTPEP-Technical Committee on Asphalt Release Agents
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Williammee Jr., Richard S Richard.Williammee@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Trepanier, Jim james.trepanier@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Fragapane, Ryan rfragapane@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Armstead, William Chance armsteadc@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ingram, Steven ingrams@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Palmer, Charles Kevin kevin.palmer@ardot.gov Arkansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kotzer, David david.kotzer@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ouyang, Chengsheng chengsheng.ouyang@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Davis, Jason jason.davis@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Lamberson, Julie julie.lamberson@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Voting
Gilbert-Young, Sabra sgilbert-young@dot.nv.gov Nevada Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ilg, Larry D larry.d.ilg@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Short, Temple shorttk@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lane, Danny L. danny.lane@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Voting
Peterson, Gerald D jerry.peterson@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Paye, Barry C barry.paye@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Wilson, Paul synthetic@pipeline.com Compound Technologies, Inc. Other None
Fogg, David DaveFogg@Econopave1000.com R & D Asphalt Products LLC Other None

 

Technical Committee
Richard Williammee (Chairman)
Texas DOT
richard.williammee@txdot.gov
(817) 370-6675
Alan Kegley (Vice Chair)
Mississippi DOT
akegley@mdot.state.ms.us
(601) 359-1773
Derrick Castle
KY Transportation Cabinet
derrick.castle@ky.gov
(502) 564-3160
Jason Davis
Louisiana DOT
jason.davis@la.gov
(225) 248-4106
Jerry Peterson
Texas DOT
jerry.peterson@txdot.gov
(512) 506-5821
Doug Gayne
Maine DOT
doug.gayne@maine.gov
(207) 624-3268
Otto Heider
Oregon DOT
otto.heider@odot.state.or.us
(503) 986-3051
Steven Thomas
Arkansas State Hwy & Trans Dept.
steven.thomas@arkansashighways.com
(501) 569-2377
James Trepanier
Illinois DOT
james.trepanier@illinois.gov
(217) 782-9607 
Danny Lane
Tennessee DOT
danny.lane@tn.gov
(615) 350-4175 
David Kotzer
Colorado DOT
david.kotzer@state.co.us  
(303) 398-6566
Chris Henke (Industry Rep)
Compound Technologies
chenke@pipeline.com
(770) 891-5794
Jeffrey Burton (Industry Rep)
ZEP, Inc.
Jeffrey.Burton@zep.com
(404) 603-7902
Evan Rothblatt
AASHTO Liaison
erothblatt@aashto.org
(202) 624-3648 
Robert Sarcinella
AASHTO Liaison
rsarcinella@aashto.org
(512) 791-5591